Halifax ISA 3.00% AER now available.

Options

Comments

• zzzLazyDaisy
    zzzLazyDaisy Posts: 12,497 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    edited 11 April 2011 at 4:29PM
    Options
    I had my existing ISA redesignated to Reward ISA 4 by phone.

I specifically asked if there were any penalties for withdrawing money as I may need access to this. I was assured that it is instant access with no limit on withdrawals and no penalty.

I also think the earlier poster was looking at the fixed rate isa T&Cs in error.

EDIT - just came across this thread which confirms (to my satisfaction anyway), that the advice that I was given by Halifax was correct, and any talk of penalties is based on confusion about which T&Cs apply to which product.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=3166676
    I'm a retired employment solicitor. Hopefully some of my comments might be useful, but they are only my opinion and not intended as legal advice.
  • blueberrypie
    blueberrypie Posts: 2,395 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    scope wrote: »
    I'll be keeping my eyes on this thread - if this is true there is no way im transferring my ISA to Halifax.. I have already opened the ISA pending all funds showing up in my existing ISA, however I wont be transferring until we clear this up.

It's not true. The person who posted it was wrong. He was reading the t&c for the wrong account.
  • rb10
    rb10 Posts: 6,334 Forumite
    Options
    bobblebob wrote: »
    Just trying to clarify something regarding the extra 0.2%

I rang up and transfered my current Halifax ISA to this new one today. I pay over £1000 into my current account each month so qualifty for the extra 0.2%. Few questions regarding it:

1) My ISA was opened before the Jan 10 deadline (the orginal one, although i have changed it a few times) mentioned in the pdf form on there website, so do i have to fill it in to get the 0.2%