Thanks to those who participated in our 'Ask An Expert: Scams' event. Scam expert MSE Katie's video answers are available to watch on the board now.

New neighbour noise

Hi,

Just wanting some opinions on how we should handle this situation as we are really not sure what to do- it’s not a typical noisy neighbour issue.

Just to clarify up front, my husband & I own our house. We're in no position to move for at least a few years. Husband works M-F 9-5 but I’m a full time student and work a few evenings a week so I’m at home a lot during the day to study etc.

Our house is semi detached. The house attached to ours was lived in by a single middle aged guy for the first couple of years we lived here. Really quiet, no issues. He has since decided to rent it out. So the next year it was a couple with their 3 year old son and a newborn baby boy.

There was the odd bit of noise from the toddler and the newborn cried a lot as expected but it never bothered us. You could always hear them tell the toddler to calm down if it got too much and the newborn crying etc was no problem as we wouldn’t expect anything else and they always seemed to be as considerate as possible with trying to keep them calm.

The dad was always out at work all day, the mum was on mat leave but always had the kids out and about and come 7.30pm every night we never heard a sound. Great neighbours but they decided to buy their own house so a new family has moved in.

It’s a young-ish mum, her partner and a 3 year old girl (from what I have gathered it is not his child but thats not really relevant). They have been here for less than 2 months and we are at our wits end already with the noise the child makes every day.