🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Grants available for individuals

Options

Comments

• nikken1979
    Options
    Does anyone know if there is any help available to help with moving? I need to move but do not have a deposit, I receive housing benefit but they do not help with the deposit! :(
  • maesyrawel
    Options
    Hello I'm new to this thread. We need help building another bedroom. I have a large and growing family, 6 children, latest just 1 month. We live in a 3 bedroom ex-Council House. We are on a relatively small income that is almost doubled by Child Tax Credits. Does anyone have any idea if there might be a grant out there for us, our loft is big enough to convert simply and cheaply (ie. no need for a dorma).
    Thanks
  • Ames
    Ames Posts: 18,459 Forumite
    Options
    Hi.

My mum has terminal cancer and needs some work doing to the downstairs toilet/shower room to make the shower work. She also wants a cheap wall putting up to split the kitchen in half to make a bedroom.

She saw a social worker last week who said that she needed a DFG, which takes a year to sort out. She hasn't got a year. In fact, it needs doing asap, because she's breathless and getting dizzy spells. She can't really manage the stairs anymore, it takes her 4 hours to recover and be able to get a shower, which then takes ages to recover from. Showering's getting dangerous because of the dizzyness, but they have given her a bath stool to sit on.

The social worker said to borrow against the house, but no-one will lend to a terminally ill woman with months left to live!