Reclaim CPP article discussion

Options

Comments

• Bill-K
    Bill-K Posts: 8 Forumite
    edited 8 April 2015 at 7:54PM
    Options
    Hi Beckshwarz. I see that Tux900 has posted some better advice while I was writing this post, but I think we agree broadly as regards the way to go. That is an excellent post, Tux - and it sure seems to put the onus firmly on CPP to re-draft the cheque. CPP's original redress offer and subsequent correspondence now seems to prove the continued existence of an unpaid debt, established under the CPP/FCA 'Scheme.'

The rest of my earlier post now follows:-
    As a fellow MSE newbie myself, I only humbly offer my own advice from my own experience with CPP Ltd. Do please wait to see if better advice is posted here later.

Presumably you were contacted by CPP and you sent in your claim as per the 'Scheme' - and you subsequently qualified for redress under the Scheme, which was duly sent to you. It doesn't look to me as though there is much hope of getting CPP to send another cheque, but I think what I would do would be to scan a copy of the cheque for your own records - and then return it to CPP and request that they re-draft it. I would add that - as you qualified under the scheme to receive redress, and CPP have previously admitted and agreed that you do - your claim cannot now be considered as disqualified simply because you failed to cash the refund cheque, and it would be unreasonable for CPP Ltd to refuse to re-draft it after you have returned it uncashed and explained the circumstances. If CPP still refuse, then I guess the next step would be to complain to the FOS, as there is nothing to lose by doing so.