Reclaim CPP article discussion

Options

Comments

• Bill-K
    Bill-K Posts: 8 Forumite
    Options
    Hi all - MSE newbie here, but I have been active elsewhere helping peeps with PPI & CPP etc. I need to put my story across here in the MSE Forum, because I believe it should be seen by as many CPP/AI claimants as possible - as well as by MSE Admin.

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) directed that the firm 'CPP Limited' negotiate a 'Scheme of Arrangement' with them, after declaring that all Card Protection Policy insurance had been mis-sold - due to its very nature. This 'Scheme' was the predecessor of the currently proposed 'Scheme' involving AI/Sentinel, and I suspect that they will be very similar.

On the surface, the scheme appeared to be quite straightforward, and it involved CPP Ltd. 'pro-actively' contacting all customers who had been sold CPP policies - and offering them a refund of their premiums, along with interest at 8% (simple) on these premiums. All that claimants had to do was to return their claim forms on time, to receive their redress. The Scheme would have a 'cut-off' date, after which any further claims would be disqualified unless good reason could be shown - and the 'small print' also stipulated that any claims settled under the Scheme would be 'Full & Final,' meaning that no additional claims under it could be made. This all seemed fair enough, and the proposed Scheme was put to the vote - which went in its favour - so it was passed by the High Court and went ahead.