edited 20 August 2009 at 9:23AM in Old Style MoneySaving
937 replies 98.1K views

Replies

• cw18cw18 Forumite
    8.3K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    emmab2001 wrote: »
    can i ask as i haev said before i'm new to the home freezing lark but what do you store your meals to be frozen in?? i only have one real dish we use for stews/pies and i wondered if anyone knew how to store things cheaply or where to buy cheaply!!????
    I ony freeze the meat parts of a meal - so I cook up a batch of bolgnese sauce, freeze individual portions of that, then cook spaghetti when we want to use some. Same with Chille and rice, Curry and rice, Mince and mash.....

I portion up into rectangular 500g marge tubs , and once frozen I transfer the contents into freezer bags. Takes up much less space, and means I can cook for 1, 2 or 3 (depending on how many people are here) without small portions or big portions/waste.
    Cheryl
    Grocery Budget : January £124. Spent £21.53 in shops + £8.84 from stocks + £4.10 discounts squirreled away = £34.47
    Grocery Budget : 2022 £1560. Spent £21.53 in shops + £8.84 from stocks + £4.10 discounts squirrelled away = £34.47
  • spendaholicspendaholic Forumite
    1.5K Posts
    ✭✭✭
    Well, I've done it. I spent less than £7 on shopping in my final week of a 5 weekend month, bringing the total for August to £162 - against a budget of £200. Whoo-hoo! I didn't think I would, I must say. :beer:

Bring on September ... :T
    spendy/she/her
    Highest debt: £35k (2005); Current debt: < £2k (2021)
    MY WINS
    £3,541 CASH; £50 to spend on chocolate; Harlem Globetrotters tickets; Jesus Christ Superstar tickets + 2 t-shirts; Guardians of the Galaxy goody bag; Birmingham City v Barnsley FC tickets; Marillion tickets; Dancing on Ice tickets; Barnsley FC v Millwall tickets
  • ifonlyitwaseasierifonlyitwaseasier Forumite
    2.9K Posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭