🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Bulk LPG - Cheapest suppliers / supply route?

Options

Comments

• SD-253
    SD-253 Posts: 314 Forumite
    edited 10 March 2011 at 3:23AM
    Options
    Dee0 wrote: »
    Hi, I'm new to the whole LPG bulk buying world. Last December we moved into a house in West Wales with a tank already installed. We had the tank filled just before the worst of the weather hit at a cost of £520 - 49.9ppl without a contract or anything. That was a shock as we were used to mains gas prices! Anyway, we're almost out now and our gas company, West Wales Gas, has sent us a welcome pack with various delivery and payment options and a 2 year contract with a £52 +VAT standing charge.

So my questions are - should I go for a regular 8 - 12 week top up service or call them when ready? Is there a 'best' time of the year to buy in bulk? If the prices rise so quickly (looking at earlier posts) it sounds like the regular top up might make more sense. I've looked on various gas websites and the prices quoted on the home pages are in the 51ppl region so is it even worth haggling?

We're going to insulate the roof properly and install a log burner so our gas use should drop I hope.

Thanks
    Below is the site for all the companies that will deliver to you:-
    http://www.uklpg.org/supplier-search/search.php

All suppliers put there details on here as they would lose sales if they didn't. It is always worth haggling? even if you get a penny off. Each 1p off = £20 per 2000 Litres. I wouldn't be surprised if they expected you to.