PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

how to make hm breadcrumbs?

Options
Can anybody tell me how you make your breadcrumbs from scratch? Is it easy?

Also, it may be an idea to have a basic ingredients thread - how to make things like breadcrumbs, sauces, batter etc Not actual recipes for meals just for ingredients.

I am new to OS I've only started this month but I'm determined to make everything from scratch, not because I'm a saint but because I'm absolutely skint!! Problem is I haven't got a clue where to start as I've always bought thing like this from the supermarket.

Any recipes/ideas for basics would be welcomed by me and I'm sure others :)
We’ve had to remove your signature. Please check the Forum Rules if you’re unsure why it’s been removed and, if still unsure, email forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

Comments

• Rikki
    Rikki Posts: 21,625 Forumite
    Options
    If you have a food processer just break the bread up in there and turn on. Viola breadcrumbs.
    If you have to do it by hand. Break the bread up into a bowl. Allow the bread to dry out and then rub between the palms of your hands until you get fine breadcrumbs. Stale bread is best.
    £2 Coins Savings Club 2012 is £4 :).............................NCFC member No: 00005.........

......................................................................TCNC member No: 00008
    NPFM 21
  • melt71
    melt71 Posts: 586 Forumite
    Options
    oh right thanks. Didn't realise it would be that simple! I may try them on my fishcakes tonight then and see what happens.