Eon smart meters IHD constantly restarting with lost connection?

zebie
zebie Posts: 6
First Post
Forumite
edited 14 February 2020 at 11:58AM in Energy
I have EON smart meters for both gas and electric. my IHD (a Chameleon IHD3-PPMID) says "waiting for current data" or occasionally "lost connection... waiting for current data" and the signal icon in the top left of the display is flashing (when it says "connection lost... waiting for current data" the signal icon is not flashing and has 1 tiny bar), it is also in a restart loop (when it says "waiting for current data" with the flashing signal icon), were after about 20 seconds of being on it will restart itself. It has been doing this since last week, i tried powering it down by unplugging it and holding the power button down until it turns off and bring it right next to the electric meter and turning it back on but it didn't reconnect, i also tried going into settings and "clear settings" but that didnt work either. It worked fine for months, and i never moved it, i called eon smart meters help desk but they couldn't help, just just told me to leave it plugged in and that hopefully it will start working again sometime.

Is there a way to fix it and also to get it out of the constant restarting loop also is it normal for it to go into a constant restart loop or is it just busted??
Also is it possible i could have reset it to factory settings and hence making it so it cant reconnect with the meters by holding the power button on the back of the display for to long or something like that?
«13456720

Comments

  • Has anyone got any ideas or advice, I can't be the only person to get the above issues with IHD going into a automatic constant restart loop or failing to connect or the waiting for current data messages as described above. Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated?
  • Former_E.ON_Company_Representative:_Malc
    Former_E.ON_Company_Representative:_Malc Posts: 6,558
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Organisation Representative
    zebie said:
    I have EON smart meters for both gas and electric. my IHD (a Chameleon IHD3-PPMID) says "waiting for current data" or occasionally "lost connection... waiting for current data" and the signal icon in the top left of the display is flashing (when it says "connection lost... waiting for current data" the signal icon is not flashing and has 1 tiny bar), it is also in a restart loop (when it says "waiting for current data" with the flashing signal icon), were after about 20 seconds of being on it will restart itself. It has been doing this since last week, i tried powering it down by unplugging it and holding the power button down until it turns off and bring it right next to the electric meter and turning it back on but it didn't reconnect, i also tried going into settings and "clear settings" but that didnt work either. It worked fine for months, and i never moved it, i called eon smart meters help desk but they couldn't help, just just told me to leave it plugged in and that hopefully it will start working again sometime.

    Is there a way to fix it and also to get it out of the constant restarting loop also is it normal for it to go into a constant restart loop or is it just busted??
    Also is it possible i could have reset it to factory settings and hence making it so it cant reconnect with the meters by holding the power button on the back of the display for to long or something like that?

    zebie said:
    Has anyone got any ideas or advice, I can't be the only person to get the above issues with IHD going into a automatic constant restart loop or failing to connect or the waiting for current data messages as described above. Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated?

    Hello zebie and I'm sorry about the issue of 'waiting for current data' with the In Home Display (IHD).

    We're aware a small proportion of SMETS2 customers are seeing this issue and are working with our partners to fix it. Much of the problem is down to network issues which are out of our hands. We're working with the communication provider, IHD manufacturer and the network operator to sort this. I don't have a timeframe at this point.

    I totally understand the frustration this causes and we're hoping to have more positive information soon. It could be a fix can be done remotely and I suspect this is why our advisor asked you to leave the IHD plugged in. This will allow any remote messages to be picked up.

    Whilst annoying, this issue won't affect the ability of the meters to automatically send us readings so your bills can be kept accurate.

    Thank you for your patience zebie.

    Malc


    Official Company Representative
    I am an official company representative of E.ON. MSE has given permission for me to post in response to queries about the company, so that I can help solve issues. You can see my name on the companies with permission to post list. I am not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe I am please report it to [email protected] This does NOT imply any form of approval of my company or its products by MSE"
  • Hi Malc 
    Thanks for your reply, is it normal for the IHD to go into a automatic restart loop were it just restarts every 20 seconds roughly?
  • Former_E.ON_Company_Representative:_Malc
    Former_E.ON_Company_Representative:_Malc Posts: 6,558
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Organisation Representative
    edited 19 February 2020 at 9:04AM
    zebie said:
    Hi Malc 
    Thanks for your reply, is it normal for the IHD to go into a automatic restart loop were it just restarts every 20 seconds roughly?
    Hello zebie and, to be honest, I've not come across this one before.
    I've been asking around and colleagues think it could be linked to the 'waiting for current data' issue although not certain about this. I'd contact our smart teams for more specific information.
    Thanks zebie.
    Malc


    Official Company Representative
    I am an official company representative of E.ON. MSE has given permission for me to post in response to queries about the company, so that I can help solve issues. You can see my name on the companies with permission to post list. I am not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe I am please report it to [email protected] This does NOT imply any form of approval of my company or its products by MSE"
  • Mine is doing exactly the same. I just called and was told this is a nationwide problem, not a problem with the display or the meter itself, but with the signalling. The guy said he'd add me to a spreadsheet to record I have this problem, but there's nothing he can do because it's to do with the telcoms firm that supplies the signal. He advised to keep the display on as eventually there should be a fix and the display will activate again. He confirmed all data is still being recorded and they have access to it.
  • Former_E.ON_Company_Representative:_Malc
    Former_E.ON_Company_Representative:_Malc Posts: 6,558
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Organisation Representative
    edited 21 February 2020 at 12:24PM
    Monsoon9 said:
    Mine is doing exactly the same. I just called and was told this is a nationwide problem, not a problem with the display or the meter itself, but with the signalling. The guy said he'd add me to a spreadsheet to record I have this problem, but there's nothing he can do because it's to do with the telcoms firm that supplies the signal. He advised to keep the display on as eventually there should be a fix and the display will activate again. He confirmed all data is still being recorded and they have access to it.
    Hello Monsoon9 and, as above, we're working with our partners to fix this problem with the In Home Display (IHD).
    Please don't worry, as our advisor confirmed, this issue relates only to the IHD. The meter itself is fine and continues to send us readings so we can make sure your bills remain accurate.
    I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused and many thanks for your patience.
    Malc
    Official Company Representative
    I am an official company representative of E.ON. MSE has given permission for me to post in response to queries about the company, so that I can help solve issues. You can see my name on the companies with permission to post list. I am not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe I am please report it to [email protected] This does NOT imply any form of approval of my company or its products by MSE"
  • zebie
    zebie Posts: 6
    First Post
    Forumite
    Monsoon9 said:
    Mine is doing exactly the same. I just called and was told this is a nationwide problem, not a problem with the display or the meter itself, but with the signalling. The guy said he'd add me to a spreadsheet to record I have this problem, but there's nothing he can do because it's to do with the telcoms firm that supplies the signal. He advised to keep the display on as eventually there should be a fix and the display will activate again. He confirmed all data is still being recorded and they have access to it.
    Hello Monsoon9 and, as above, we're working with our partners to fix this problem with the In Home Display (IHD).
    Please don't worry, as our advisor confirmed, this issue relates only to the IHD. The meter itself is fine and continues to send us readings so we can make sure your bills remain accurate.
    I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused and many thanks for your patience.
    Malc
    Malc 
    Once the problem has been resolved could you let us know so that we can know that the IHD should be working again, that way if it still isn't working yet, we will know its something else
  • zebie
    zebie Posts: 6
    First Post
    Forumite
    Monsoon9 said:
    Mine is doing exactly the same. I just called and was told this is a nationwide problem, not a problem with the display or the meter itself, but with the signalling. The guy said he'd add me to a spreadsheet to record I have this problem, but there's nothing he can do because it's to do with the telcoms firm that supplies the signal. He advised to keep the display on as eventually there should be a fix and the display will activate again. He confirmed all data is still being recorded and they have access to it.
    So your is constantly restarting too? Hopefully it will get fixed soon 
  • Former_E.ON_Company_Representative:_Malc
    Former_E.ON_Company_Representative:_Malc Posts: 6,558
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Organisation Representative
    edited 21 February 2020 at 3:47PM
    zebie said:
    Monsoon9 said:
    Mine is doing exactly the same. I just called and was told this is a nationwide problem, not a problem with the display or the meter itself, but with the signalling. The guy said he'd add me to a spreadsheet to record I have this problem, but there's nothing he can do because it's to do with the telcoms firm that supplies the signal. He advised to keep the display on as eventually there should be a fix and the display will activate again. He confirmed all data is still being recorded and they have access to it.
    So your is constantly restarting too? Hopefully it will get fixed soon 
    Will do zebie. I've popped this thread in my diary and will post once it's been confirmed the issue is fixed.
    Thanks again for your understanding zebie and have a good weekend.
    Malc

    Official Company Representative
    I am an official company representative of E.ON. MSE has given permission for me to post in response to queries about the company, so that I can help solve issues. You can see my name on the companies with permission to post list. I am not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe I am please report it to [email protected] This does NOT imply any form of approval of my company or its products by MSE"
  • zebie
    zebie Posts: 6
    First Post
    Forumite
    edited 21 February 2020 at 4:37PM
    zebie said:
    Monsoon9 said:
    Mine is doing exactly the same. I just called and was told this is a nationwide problem, not a problem with the display or the meter itself, but with the signalling. The guy said he'd add me to a spreadsheet to record I have this problem, but there's nothing he can do because it's to do with the telcoms firm that supplies the signal. He advised to keep the display on as eventually there should be a fix and the display will activate again. He confirmed all data is still being recorded and they have access to it.
    So your is constantly restarting too? Hopefully it will get fixed soon 
    Will do zebie. I've popped this thread in my diary and will post once it's been confirmed the issue is fixed.
    Thanks again for your understanding zebie and have a good weekend.
    Malc

    Quick update after remembering today is the day of the month when the meter normally sends readings to you, I checked online and indeed they had been sent, then I thought I'd check if the IHD was still restarting and to my delight it seems to be working again, hopefully it will stay that way. Maybe it has something to do with that today is the day the readings are sent or maybe its just a continence:)
Meet your Ambassadors

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 341.7K Banking & Borrowing
  • 249.7K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 449.1K Spending & Discounts
  • 233.9K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 606K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 172.5K Life & Family
  • 246.8K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 15.8K Discuss & Feedback
  • 15.1K Coronavirus Support Boards