Prepaid Travel Cards guide

Replies

• chrisb1357chrisb1357 Forumite
    836 Posts
    Part of the Furniture 500 Posts Combo Breaker I've been Money Tipped!
    ✭✭✭
    Only thing putting me off at the minute with Revolut was you can only manage by an App on a phone or device

Chris
  • Swami_TrinelSwami_Trinel Forumite
    35 Posts
    Sixth Anniversary 10 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    chrisb1357 wrote: »
    Hi All

Is anyone able to offer any advice on this.

Many Thanks

Hello I went to Tesco and got a Visa Electron Cash Passport for use in Majorca last year I had no problems at all using it to withdraw cash and pay for purchases/ restaurants. I'd recommend it.
  • chrisb1357 wrote: »
    Only thing putting me off at the minute with Revolut was you can only manage by an App on a phone or device

Chris

I have a Kalixa Pay Prepaid Mastercard as it's amongst the best for purchases(full Mastercard rate with no deductions.. Yesterday's rate: 1.416727€
    Though not so good for daily ATM withdrawals as each costs £2.25. Better to remove a decent chunk each time. The £2.25 would represent a 1% deduction of a 320€ ATM withdrawal for an equivalent rate of 1.40255973€.
    Card is denominated in £s, so you won't have foreign currency left on the card.
    Card costs £6.95, but you get a £5 credit if referred by an existing customer.
  • edited 30 July 2015 at 10:20PM
    chrisb1357chrisb1357 Forumite
    836 Posts
    ✭✭✭
    edited 30 July 2015 at 10:20PM
    Still no the wise as to which one to go for.

Been looking at the Travelex Multi-Currency Cash Passport which on their site it says the card is Free. It says Paying in Shops or ATM's are free to use.

But the loading fee's are When loading/reloading to your GB£ Currency wallet, a charge of 2% of the (re)load value applies. A GB£3 minimum charge may apply

Does that mean if i load £700 on this card i will be charged £14