PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.
We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Spendaholics programme

Options

Comments

• Bargain_Rzl
    Bargain_Rzl Posts: 6,254 Forumite
    Options
    lipidicman wrote:
    I agree. I dropped down to 4.5k a year while I finished my PhD - that is hard to live on. But I cut everything to the bone and managed. I guess it is easier when it is only for a while, for me it lasted only 2-3 years.
    I lived on £3k the first year of my degree, £4k the second year (due to job), and £3.5k in third year (due to remains of proceeds from job in second year). The 3k a year came from my dad, and I also took out student loans (now paid off) but did not use these for living expenses, only for important one-offs mainly AFTER uni (like my computer, an accommodation deposit when I moved to London, and money to tide me over for the 2 months after graduation before I started earning). I therefore consider that I didn't rack up any student debt.