Flight delay and cancellation compensation, BA ONLY

Options

Comments

• legal_magpie
    Options
    At the risk of repeating myself (see other threads) there is an old maxim amongst lawyers that you should not make a threat unless you are prepared to carry it out. So, if you told them that if they didn't accept your claim within 14 days you would sue them, then you should do it. If you don't and, say, send a follow up letter you will destroy your credibility
  • rpoitoux
    Options
    No response as well... Glad to see I'm not the only one!
  • Rolyan
    Rolyan Posts: 54 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I assumed as much LegalMagpie, but would hate to do that, only to find those more experienced saying that it’s worthwhile waiting an extra week. I’m not a lawyer, so thought it would be good to ask. It’s a technique I use quite often when I’m not sure of something.

I’ll wait until the 14 days are up, then I’ll send the NBA. Then when they ignore that I’ll get in touch with Botts. Question: I assume I can still use a claim company after trying to do it myself (girds loins!)
  • Rolyan
    Options
    2 quick questions if anyone is able to help.

1) I stated in my first letter that I wanted a response within 14 days. Is this normally expected to be working days or calendar days?

2) Can I still use a delay solicitor like Botts if I have already tried with BA through the letter, then the NBA, but had no response and/or been rejected.

Many thanks to anyone who can help.
  • Justice13075
    Justice13075 Posts: 2,008 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    It would appear that the 14 days are up whichever way you calculate it. Yes, you can use bott if you don't want to do it yourself.
  • terry_mcgow
    Options