Cheap Parcel Delivery - official discussion

Options

Comments

• ecokestove
    Options
    I'm new to this, so hope I've got the right place.

I used Parcel Monkey to buy a collect and deliver service from ParcelForce. Item was a large A3 Canon inkjet printer. It was damaged during shipment.

Their terms and conditions state: 'All claims for loss or damage to your goods need to be made within (5) working days from the scheduled date of delivery and then we must receive full details of the actual claim within (10) working days from the scheduled date of delivery.'

The item was delivered on 12th January. I made my claim on 15th January, within their 5 day term. They did not respond to my claim until 24th Jan, and then only because I prompted them. Thus, the ten days had already expired owing to their inefficiency (or perhaps a deliberate delaying tactic).

Their late response invited me to complete an online claim form within 7 days. The process of completing this asked me to get an estimate for repair. Shipping the printer to an authorised repair centre and getting a quote meant that more than 7 days had passed. Incidentally, the partly completed claim form has disappeared - at least to my view.

Claim refused - out of time.

Dealing with the support centre is like being trapped in a Kafkaesque novel. A very slippery bunch in my opinion.

It looks like I'll have to start a 'Small Claims' process.

Anyone had similar trouble with them wriggling out of a claim?
  • diabolik
    Options
    My experience with PARCEL 2 GO is an absolute nightmare ...

I picked a service which I thought was adequate for delivering an item which was quite large in size at:

160 cm X 15 cm X 10 cm and weighed around 3 Kg (7 lbs)