Hyundai i20 clutch problems

Options
1789101113»

Comments

• notahopeinhell
    Options
    Have only read this thread today but rather glad that I did as I was looking to replace my wife's 11 year old Suzuki Alto (which has given fantastic service)
    with a newish Hyundai i20.

After reading this thread and then found other reports on other websites on the same subject I've more or less changed my mind.

Get the feeling I have been saved from a bad experience!!
  • scousemouse
    Options
    I have just had the clutch replaced on my 11 plate i10 (bought new) due to bearings being worn at 21,000 miles. Strange that I have been driving for almost 50 years (including some right old bangers) and have never worn out a clutch before. The dealer did contact Hyundai who agreed to pay the majority of the cost of replacement but having read about the number of complaints I am now somewhat wary.
  • shane005
    Options
    I want to add another i20 clutch failure to the list. My father bought one last March (2014) and was left stranded at the roadside this year. The car is 11 months old, and has only approx. 4000miles on the clock.

Hyundai "Customer Services" didn't want to know......

"Thank you for your further email regarding the clutch on the above mentioned vehicle.

Unfortunately Hyundai Motors UK are not able to provide any further assistance toward this clutch repair. This is because we believe that the clutch fault on this car was not caused by a manufacturing defect. If you are dissatisfied with this decision and you feel that you have not been treated fairly by Hyundai Motors UK, you can contact the independent motor industry regulating body Motor Codes on 0800 692 0825. They will be able to advise you on your consumer rights, and any options that may be open to you.

I am sorry that I have not been able to assist you in the way that you may have been hoping for. Thank you once again for contacting Hyundai.

Yours sincerely

Andy Wells