We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Hyundai i20 clutch problems

Options

Comments

• LDS2604
    Options
    Hi

I know this is quite an old thread but was looking online for general prices for Hyundai clutches. Am surprised at how little wear some people have got.

I have a 2010 i20 Comfort just approaching 60k miles and it's a driving school car! The clutch has only just started slipping. When the car was 9 months old the clutch plate bearing (I think that's what it's called I'm not a mechanic and paperwork buried somewhere) was replaced under warranty. I've had a few little things go wrong but have all been covered by the warranty with no hassle from the dealership. And I don't get the car serviced there either! Apart from general servicing the first thing I paid for was last week - a droplink. We have many roadhumps around my area in Essex and again..scouring the internet it seems this can cause these problems.

Now am as little worried about getting them to replace my clutch but I have got 60k out of this one and that's 90% town work and learner drivers from day 1. Yes I have dual controls but I get them doing as much as they can. I am going to mention reading this forum to the guys on the service desk on Monday when I book it in and make sure I get a proper warranty on the new one too. Will let you know how I get on and how much they charge :undecided

The guys in my local Hyundai couldn't be better and service is so important to keeping me on the road. Such a shame they've let themselves down in other areas.
  • KTF
    KTF Posts: 4,820 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options