Forum Home» Motoring

Diesel vs Petrol - Page 5

New Post Advanced Search

Diesel vs Petrol

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Motoring
336 replies 241.5K views

Replies

• I've been driving diesels for the past ten years now and despite the slightly extra noise, would be very reluctant to go back to petrol, especially as I've now perfected the refinement process of recycling my old chip pan oil. Gordon eat your heart out!
    Antonio.
  • Tony_H_3Tony_H_3 Forumite
    2.6K posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    My original posting has been questioned, I will say this:

I have not included anything other than fuel expenses eg the old 1.8 auto was costing £55.00 - £60.00 per week where as the diesel is a more stable £20.00.

As for running costs, I have just replaced the clutch (What's one of those!!) at a cost of £325.00 ...o0(ouch!!) & cambelt £107.00, but servicing cost's are about equal, certainly not substantially more than I was paying. I think the important thing to consider that most of my driving is done locally and I very rarely get onto faster roads.
  • scchinscchin Forumite
    27 posts
    has anyone tried the electric car? only does a max of 40 miles/hr but only costs 1p/mile! or so they claim. anyone had any experiences? we are thinking of getting one!
  • aNtoNio wrote:
    I've been driving diesels for the past ten years now and despite the slightly extra noise, would be very reluctant to go back to petrol, especially as I've now perfected the refinement process of recycling my old chip pan oil. Gordon eat your heart out!
    Antonio.
    You still have to pay duty on home-made biodiesel at about 28 or 30p per litre, 20p less than normal diesel. But still, it's costing you about half-price.
  • peterbaker wrote: