Great Cheap but Lovely & Thoughtful Wedding Gift Hunt

Comments

• I think a nice idea for a wedding gift is homemade celebratory jams & or chutneys. These can be made really cheaply : recycle glass jars, gather hedgerow fruit, sugar & vinegar are both very cheap (especially if bought in bulk); & dressed up with a pretty label & ribbon. Also make great wedding favours - see my blog for further details: http://maxandmollydesigns.wordpress.com/2009/06/18/hedgerow-treasures/
  • When I was a poor student my best frend got married. I was really broke and couldn't afford a 'proper' wedding present. So I bought a pretty tray, two mugs and small plates, two tea spoons and two egg cups. They really loved my 'breakfast in bed' present.
  • My friend of 20+ years got married a couple of weeks ago and my husband is currently out of work, we couldn't even afford to go to the evening party. I volunteered to call on her mum and do the shopping etc while they were on honeymoon. They had less worries while they were away and her mum got some company. All it cost me was some time and fuel.
  • sophiesofa
    sophiesofa Posts: 22 Forumite
    i don't mean to sound mean but i think things like a scented candle are a bit too cheap and thoughtless for a wedding present. Obviously if they're into their candles then it's a good present. I think making something or making vouchers such as 5 hours decorating or babysitting is better if you don't have the funds. If you're going to the reception for a sit down dinner with alcohol then they're spending at least £20 just to have you there. If you just don't have money at the time but will do soon then you could make an IOU card with a picture of what you're going to give them. If they're some kind of distant relative you haven't seen for years and you have no real friendship with it's probably best to not go if you won't enjoy it and you can't afford or don't want to/can't make a good present.
  • nementai
    nementai Posts: 164 Forumite