ESA Reassessment

Options
Hi there,

I received a form from ESA to complete and send back by the 26th of December. I have been receiving ESA for around 7 years and am in the work related activity group. I think it is called a reassessment form? I sent it back in the middle of December but have not heard anything again from ESA. I was wondering what is likely to happen now? Will I be called in to meet a medical professional to discuss staying on ESA? How long after I send the form back am I likely to hear? I know this is all dependant but wondered if anyone has had a reassessment recently and could advise what is likely to happen next and when?

thankyou.

Comments

• poppy12345
    poppy12345 Posts: 17,966 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    You maybe asked to attend a work capability assessment. This would either be by telephone or face to face at an assessment centre. Paper based assessments are possible but fairly rare.

There's no timescales how long you maybe waiting. Some wait weeks and others wait several months. If an assessment is needed then you will be contacted.
  • Robbie64
    Robbie64 Posts: 1,940 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I'm in the same position and am also in the WRAG. I got my ESA50 the second week in December and the form had to be returned by 4 Janaury. The DWP received the form on 28 December (I phoned the Health Advisory Assessment Service to make sure it had been received). It's been almost 5 years since I was last assessed (March 2019) as COVID and backlogs meant that the Work Capability Assessment review date was pushed back from September 2020 to September 2022 to September 2024. I wasn't quite expecting the ESA50 form to land just before Christmas as a result but I'm assuming that the DWP are concentrating on reviewing people in the WRAG at present.