New Post Advanced Search

Coronavirus: The latest from MSE

The MSE team is working extremely hard to keep the info we have about your travel rights, cancellation rights, sick pay (and more) up to date.
The official MSE guides: UPDATED MSE Coronavirus Guides

NEWSFLASH

New, free ‘Academoney’ course from MSE and the Open University launches
All the key areas of personal finance are covered, so that you can master your money decisions

Bookworms 2020

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Old Style MoneySaving
276 replies 24.2K views

Replies

• Ms_Potato_HeadMs_Potato_Head Forumite
    11 posts
    10 Posts
    MoneySaving Newbie
    Ooh may I join? I'm a newbie trawling the forums for a challenge to join and this one looks right up my street! I can only read about one book a month as I'm also studying. I'm just reading the books I already own for now.

My first one of the year was The Testament by John Grisham - good fun!
  • betasambetasam Forumite
    24 posts
    Tenth Anniversary 10 Posts
    5. Secrets Of The Singer Girls by Kate Thompson. Typical World War 2 home-front story, partly based on the Bethnal Green Tube disaster. OK but unrealistic in parts.

I have found three forgotten boxes of unread books under the bed this afternoon... I have managed not to buy any so far this year!
  • PollyflindersPollyflinders Forumite
    235 posts
    ✭✭
    The Call the Midwife trilogy is sooo heavy that I ended up with one aching thumb and a painful elbow! Sounds pathetic, eh?

I started rereading Cold Comfort Farm last night. I can remember finding it amusing; now it seems pretentious and totally dated. I don't think I'll continue.

Fridays child, Silence of the Girls was my favourite book of last year.
  • dolly84dolly84 Forumite
    5.3K posts
    Eighth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    Hi everyone,

Please may I join too. It's interesting seeing what everyone else is reading as well as finding new suggestions.