🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Compensation for delayed flights Discussion Area

Options

Comments

• 2022jt
    Options
    Hello All

This is my first time posting so apologies if I am posting in the wrong place etc - please just let me know.

I am looking for some advice on flight compensation claims. I need to get my claim in quickly as in 2 months it will be 6 years since we travelled and I am aware of the statute of limitations.

On 21 October 2007 myself and 2 other people were due to return from Brussels to Manchester on a Brussels airline flight. They cancelled the flight when we arrived at the airport and told us at the time that this was due to underbooking and the flight not being full enough. They then transferred us to a Brussels airline flight to Birmingham Airport and when we arrived in Birmingham then we were transferred back to Manchester in a mini bus. We arrived at Manchester more than 3 hours after our original time of arrival. My questions are as follows:

1. Can I claim for flight compensation pursuant to the EU ruling 2004 given we were offered an alternative flight (albeit to a different airport and we arrived more than 3 hours after we were originally due to in Manchester) ? If so, do I claim for a delayed or cancelled flight?

2. How can I find out the details of the flight we were re-routed on to Birmingham? I have tried flightstats.co.uk and I don't know if I am being ridiculously stupid but I just can't seem to locate historic flight data?