Official MSE Economy 7 Guide discussion

Options
1616263646567»

Comments

• OwenDibhing
    Options
    QrizB said:
    I am, I believe, an expert on E7 tariffs
    There's something very off-putting about a brand new poster who declares themselves to be an expert on something.
    Particularly when they go on to make unsubstantiated claims and use those claims to propose changes to the energy market that would benefit them.
    It shouldn't be off-putting. I have been using off peak electricity for heating for over 35 years and feel sorry for those not able to navigate the E7 minefield. Many are just not able to calculate the costs of various E7 tariffs which providers vary in devious ways to catch out users. What is needed is a way of allowing competition from energy companies without the unfairness we have now.
  • QrizB
    QrizB Posts: 13,822 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    Options
    I am, I believe, an expert on E7 tariffs and know how to make the best of it. I have had off peak electric heating for 35 years (Nightstor 100) and an electric immersion water heater and also use washing machine and dishwasher overnight. I now also have an electric car which charges overnight.
    For those who also use a lot of energy at night, there is a significant unfairness in how we are billed. 
    With wind power becoming a major source of electricity, using electricity  to heat bricks at night and then using the heat it in the daytime is a major benefit to the grid. It is therefore daft and very unfair to make E7 users pay more for daytime electricity than those who use gas, oil, wood or coal for heating. In fact some energy providers offer lower electricity tariffs to those who have both gas and electricity from one supplier.

Why are E7 customers being punnished?