Blue Crayon's Guide to Life

in Debt free diaries
86 replies 4.6K views
Hello,

I was a member of this site many years ago, never posted a whole lot but used all the advice to get my debts paid off and head off to live the life of my dreams! Unfortunately that didn’t quite go to plan. Ooops. Fast forward to now, I’m a mature student, single, childless, have no mortgage or pension, have some debt and am almost half way through my thirties. I like to picture myself as a stylish and successful young lady on her way to better things but the more accurate description is of a rapidly aging skint woman with a crap car on her way to being the crazy cat lady who frightens all the local children.

Yesterday was a typical day, I woke up full of zeal determined to sort my life out, I then checked where I could buy the cheapest petrol and felt very pleased with myself before realising I was running late and didn’t have time to make lunch so I had to buy a sandwich more than offsetting the 60p I’d saved. Then because I had a rubbish day I treated myself to a bottle of wine and now have a headache. Wine costs money and it seems that I am treating myself to a bottle for myriad reasons, tired, stressed, happy, sad, day ending in a Y. A month off the booze would do me and my wallet a lot of good. We’ll talk about the smoking later……..

My debt ain’t too bad the total figure is £5663.15, of course that does not include student loans but I’ve decided that pretending that it is not real money and therefore doesn’t count is far preferable to sobbing myself to sleep each night. But I’m going to add potential future debt to the total and aim to get it saved so I can have a real crack at my dreams. This brings the total to an eyewatering £13558.15 and I want to have it done by the time I graduate, in 11 months time.