Beware - People's Postcode Lottery!

Options

Comments

• Chandy
    Chandy Posts: 278 Forumite
    Options
    Theresa67 wrote: »
    I've been playing postcode lottery for 3 years and have won £30 only. I did query them as I noticed most big winners seem to be in the Scotland area. They sent me an email to say I'd won £10 I replied it costs me that amount to play each month so technically I've won nothing!! I've also noticed how they are heavily plugging themselves on TV a lot and begging you to buy a ticket like you're really going to win a vast amount of money L.M.A.O.. AFter 3 years playing and living in a relatively big postcode I'm beginning to think this lottery is just a waste of money no matter how the adverts make it look so easy to win big.

The size of your postcode makes no difference to your odds of winning, though it does make a difference to your odds of the prize being large if you do win.
  • maninthestreet
    maninthestreet Posts: 16,127 Forumite
    First Anniversary
    Options
    Chandy wrote: »
    The size of your postcode makes no difference to your odds of winning, though it does make a difference to your odds of the prize being large if you do win.

Please explain you reasoning for the above in bold
    "You were only supposed to blow the bl**dy doors off!!"
  • maninthestreet
    First Anniversary
    Options
    wondring wrote: »
    My concern, apart from noticing that out of 5 latest winning postcodes 2 are Scotland, 2 are Nottingham/Stoke on Trent and one near London, that the 25 grand one was Bolton and the 3 Million winners Crew (near Newcastle/Stoke on Trent (ie all bar one up North) and that many of the Good Causes are specifically Scottish, Peoples Postcode Directors, Management and the Charities are allowed to participate in the draws. Even though the rules state any individual wins they get over 5 grand have to be donated to their trusts (or words to that effect) it still doesn't sound right to me.