Home-made cakes thread 2

Options

Comments

• rubysmummy_2
    rubysmummy_2 Posts: 292 Forumite
    Options
    hey everyone, well the charity night went really well - they earned over £700. Here is a couple of pics of my cakes - the little ones were freebies then people could buy the bigger ones

264540_10150231323016636_708146635_7600625_1301737_n.jpg

264540_10150231322966636_708146635_7600622_8265079_n.jpg

sorry for the massive pictures
  • AnnieH
    AnnieH Posts: 8,088 Forumite
    Options
    Well here it is. My first cake for a paying customer. it's taken me all week.
    photo-13.jpg
  • cakesandbakes
    Options
    photo-103.jpg
    Hi all,

I've been on the MSE forums for a few months and amazingly hadn't found this thread, too busy over on the comp threads! I'm an avid amateur baker, been doing it for about 5 years as a spare time thing but it consumes everything I do. It's my dream to do it full time. This is my latest creation, hope the image isn't too big! It's a double vanilla cake with vanilla & raspberry filling. The lid is fondant covered card, the base of the chest is all cake with 2 dowels to hold the lid at that angle. All the decoration is fondant including the hand painted map (expect the coins) I found a choc coin making machine in the kids section of Home Bargains so I used Galaxy chocolate and milkybars to make my own coins. It was pure luck that there was a skull n cross bones & ship amongst the coin press images!

I look forward to chatting about cakes and all the associated fun, madness & costs!!
  • hamish222
    hamish222 Posts: 716 Forumite
    Options