We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Student Debt Free Wannabe!

Options

Comments

• jen_jen_2
    jen_jen_2 Posts: 1,032 Forumite
    Options
    bar work at the uni is great, i did this when i was a student and its basically a free night out (tips were pretty poor though) all your mates are in drinking and you get to see bands, etc free. At our uni we also had a free taxi home!!! just keep asking as they are short of shifts to be covered all the time, get your face known and when there is a vacancy they may give you a call.
    Ready to Go Go!
  • Gemmzie
    Gemmzie Posts: 14,876 Forumite
    Options
    With train tickets, Martin said that the trick is to book 12 weeks in advance to get the cheapest prices.

Or try dividing up your journey if it's a long one.
    No longer using this account for new posts from 2013
  • atypicalblonde
    Options
    Hey Nicola!!! I too am a student trying to pay off my overdraft before it gets any worse,I think its the most sensible way!!! Re. your contact lenses, mine are Boots own brand, do the job fine and are £6 per month. I used to want to go home loads when I lived away at uni, but I reckon getting a weekend job will help in both ways as you will save money and earn some at the same time! Good luck hun x
    MFW :)
    [STRIKE]Mortgage 8.2.15 - [/STRIKE][STRIKE]£171,064.64[/STRIKE] Mortgage 1.5.2018 - £99,980.45
    Aiming to be MF 1.10.2020
  • slowlyfading
    slowlyfading Posts: 13,429 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options