Forumite
    BusyGirl wrote: »
    Tuna Mushroom Pasta
    A good one to do when we go camping:

Cook pasta as usual then in another pan empty:

tin of campbells cond mushroom soup
    tin of tuna
    tin of sweetcorn and heat for a few mins

Drain pasta and mix together. You can also do this using one pan, just drain pasta and add other stuff to pasta and heat for a few minutes.:D

With the condensed soup do you add a tin of water also or eat it condensed? Thanks!
    When life hands you lemons, ask for tequilla and salt and give me a call!!!
  • auntymabel
    auntymabel Posts: 433 Forumite
    Bronnie wrote: »
    Well, you live and learn!

I've been doing this for at least 15 years and fortunately have managed not to poison my family and friends :eek:

However I'm pretty sure this warning hasn't been on the jar that long

Interesting too that although Pataks give this warning, they also do make the assumption that people (like me) will be expecting to be able to use it uncooked ;) and give advice on consuming it safely when uncooked, which would mean my Coronation Chicken recipe would still be OK if you followed this part of Patak's instructions.

There is a thread here discussing this very question. Some interesting points raised, including that of legal-back-covering:rolleyes:

http://ask.metafilter.com/41544/Why-must-I-cook-Pataks-Curry-Paste

I have always assumed that pastes have already been cooked off, the advantage of using them being that the spice was cooked and not 'raw' as it would be if you added, for example curry or chilli powder directly.

I expect the paste could be fried off in a little oil for the requisite time before adding to my dish (not very lazy recipe though!), but you might as well just fry off some curry powder instead then and produce your own paste, it would be cheaper. I wonder if other brands have a similar warning? Will check next time I go shopping and report back!

Thanks for the follow-up anyway!