Earn upto £3,500 for 30 minutes work!!! 'Access to Learning Fund'

Comments

• elisebutt65
    elisebutt65 Posts: 3,854 Forumite
    I've been Money Tipped!
    Right - I went and got the form today - nealy all filled in apart from the supporting statement!!

I don't know what to say here - cos it's basically a begging letter and I've never written one of them - i am a priority student as am a mature, lone parent with 2 littlies under 11. One of them is on medium rate DLA so tht pushes up my incomings a bit - even though I do spend it on him.

What sort of things can I say here?? Like the fact that my grant& loan have to last through to end of September and I only get an extra tenner a week from IS??? Eldest DS will be starting 2dry school in September and I can't afford uniform??

Is that the way I need to go?

TIA

Elise
    Noli nothis permittere te terere
    Bad Mothers Club Member No.665
    [STRIKE]Student MoneySaving Club member 026![/STRIKE] Teacher now and still Moneysaving:D

• robhammond
    robhammond Posts: 63 Forumite
    aav

"Because of this my mum now had to reply back to a letter she has been sent and wouold have to say why she is not able to support me."

I've never heard of that before, it is probably something relatively unique to your uni by the sounds of things. I would just get your mum to fill the form in - at least that way you will be eligible for more. As this seems to be a localised procedure it might be worth giving your student advice centre a call.

elisebutt65

"What sort of things can I say here"

In an earlier post I mentioned a few tips for the supporting statement although you're pretty much along the right lines with what you have put.

I've mentioned before that it is important to state how you have limited earning capabilities & children are expensive! Explain how you are struggeling to provide even the essentials, like school uniforms. Explain that you have come to Uni to better yourself to support your children etc.