New Post Advanced Search

April 2009 Grocery Challenge

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Old Style MoneySaving
710 replies 47.9K views

Replies

• lalamblalamb Forumite
    1.9K posts
    Hi
    I'm new to this part of MSE but would really like to give it a go. I haven't got a clue how much we spend each month on groceries, it could be anything from £600-£800 per month. We are, me and OH, DD19, DD14, DS5, DS6.
    My expense is because of 2 fussy eaters,OH and DS6, neither like the same foods DH likes old fashioned traditional food -pies, stews etc, won't eat pasta, spicy food, rice and hates bread!!! DS6 likes chicken, salads, duck, lamb and pork, but it's all quite bland and expensive, he won't eat anything that's sauce based!!! The rest of us are ok, me DD19 and DS5 eat anything, DD14 eats more or less anything but hates stews, pies and doesn't like potatoes. I almost always cook 3 seperate meals each night but often find myself cooking 4 meals and it costs a bloomin' fortune. The only meals which we all eat is a roast dinner on Sunday(DS6 minus veg and substitutes that with salad) and toad in the hole.
    It's easier and sometimes cheaper to opt for takeaway.
    I don't know where to begin, HELP!!!!
    I understand that having a large family you will have to cater for individual tastes but it's ridiculous sometimes. I could serve up the same meal to everyone and say if you don't like it you can lump it but you can't force people to like foods they simply don't like.

I hope I've posted this in the right place.
    Thanks for any tips and advice you've got.
  • edited 20 April 2009 at 9:16AM
    WelshWooferWelshWoofer Forumite
    5.1K posts
    edited 20 April 2009 at 9:16AM
    Afternoon all!
    Just popping in to report the Mr T spending yesterday - I only bought mostly fresh stuff and a few other bits and pieces but managed to spend £40!
    Why is fruit and veg so expensive!!!!!?