Forum Home» Shop but don't drop

The Great 'Wine Tart' Hunt - Page 3

New Post Advanced Search
Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.

The Great 'Wine Tart' Hunt

edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Shop but don't drop
87 replies 60.3K views

Replies

• I have been buying wine on these introductory deals since I was a student (since about 1999) and have always had great wine at very reasonable prices - and you don't need to carry it home from the shop!

I tend to sign up for the "4 seasons" deals, or similar, get a great value introductory box, far cheaper than the equivalent wines off the shelf, and then cancel the subsequent boxes of wine, long before they ever try and send them to me.

I have used Laithwaites, Sunday Times Wine Club, Virgin, Wine Warehouse... I know some of these are the same company but I prefer Sunday Times (better wine, better offers, better info), and wouldn't order from Wine Warehouse again (no info on the not-that-great wine).

So I always have plenty of great wine in my flat that's cost max £4 a bottle. And lots of freebies (wine, champagne/cava, corkscrews, glasses, cool box...).

No company has ever refused me an "introductory" offer because I've had one several times previously.

I know it's a £40-£50 outlay upfront, but if you want good value wine, rather than just cheap wine, I highly recommend it!
  • --Tony----Tony-- Forumite
    1.7K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Photogenic Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭
    Smegster wrote:
    Be honest when was the last time you bought a £6 wine at 50% off and thought to yourself that it was definately worth the full price?

Quite often, must be lucky. I do stock up when I get the chance.
  • tstodarttstodart Forumite
    73 posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker