MONEY MORAL DILEMMA: Would you ask for your tip back?

Options

Comments

• The_MoneySavingKid
    Options
    Sarah.A wrote: »
    I kinda agree with Taytay, I used to work as a waitress when I was younger and we would never expect tips. We do get a wage like everyone else after all, we are not working for the love of the job -(thats for sure!! :p )
    If you tip at a restaurant, should you tip a shop assisstant too if they were helpful, or a teacher who helped you learn something....err no, they are just doing their job!
    Sounds a bit mean, but I can't afford to give my cash away. Every penny counts!
    The teacher wouldn't be the case anyway..they are all to often paid by taxes..different to companies.
  • wurley
    wurley Posts: 95 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I'd ask for it back.... intended to give £4 not £14 so it was an error....

As an aside.... US pay stupidly low wages so the tip is important.... UK have a reasonable min wage and tax credits (tips would have to be declared)

Service would have to go above what I expected in the UK (I once got a free steak meal as the waitress gave me the option of taking the wrong steak that was cooked for me instead of what i ordered....she got a tip!):T
  • waynedance
    Options
    I do not believe in all this tipping nonsense.

As said they get a wage.
    Google gives you answers use it.........
  • tallgirld
    Options
    I would scream!!!!

I probably wouldn't ask for it back but if I went back there again I wouldnt leave a tip again.
  • olliedog
    Options
    I would never tip on the card. If I tip I always leave it in cash. 10% if good service, or if the service was exceptional maybe 15%. I am neurotic about keying numbers in and always watch myself closely to ensure I tap the right numbers.
  • want2Bdebtfree
    Options