MONEY MORAL DILEMMA: Would you ask for your tip back?

Options

Comments

• Shrewdmoneysaver
    Options
    I put in a high tip by mistake on an excellent and expensive anniversary meal. The waiter who had earlier brought us complementary champagne queried whether I had added too much. It was not huge so I said keep it.
    I now try and be a lot more careful.
  • amus
    amus Posts: 5,635 Forumite
    Options
    I worked in restauraunts when I was a student and it completely depends on the place as to who gets the tip. One place I worked the manager used to keep tips given to him for himself and then if we got tips we had to pool them and share them with everyone including him! On the other hand in another place I worked all the tips went to the waiters and waitresses. If you are worried about where your tips are going I would recommend that you ask the wating staff, if it goes to greedy managers they would be more than happy to tell you - I know I would have!!
  • lkmc01
    lkmc01 Posts: 967 Forumite
    Options
    I never tip anyway as the price I see if the maximum price I'll pay
  • Jade1980
    Options
    I used to work in a Harvester restaurant and we would get to keep the tips entered on card payment machines. After cashing up the takings from our apron, we would just take home the cash equivalent of any card or cheque tips.

In this scenario I would leave it and not ask for it back as I'd be too embarrassed and would just put it down to experience and be more careful next time.
  • relynutz
    relynutz Posts: 350 Forumite
    Options
    i wouldnt ask for it back, i should have been more careful..

I wor ina restaurant and us waitresses all keep our own tips, we do not share them with others.
    i dont expect tips but i do appreciate them :j

But i do know that half of our waitresses work their because of the tips.