Warranty Direct problems

Options
Hi, I'm hoping someone can help or advise on an issue i have with Warranty Direct.
I took out an 'Extra care' policy with them which covered most major parts of the car (see link here: http://www.warrantydirect.co.uk/pdfs/6727-WD_Policy_BK_ExtraCare.pdf )
and was quite happy with the deal i got.
However, today my car is sat in a garage with a broken Gearbox, and warranty direct have refused my claim, stating that its a 'Fair Wear & Tear' Item.
However, even though i'm not a mechanic, i happen to know that a gearbox isn't replaced at a service interval, nor is it stripped down and inspected. Its expected to last the life of the car, not collapse at only 63,000 miles.
I have argued this point with Warranty direct, but they insist that all parts of the GB could fall into the FW&T bracket, but refused to name specific parts when i questioned them about it.
As a result of this, i decided to cancel my policy. I was put through to the relevant dep't and was told, "You can't cancel because you have made a claim"
I asked when, and they said "This morning". I pointed out that the claim had been refused, and they said "but you tried to claim, so the policy cannot be cancelled" :rotfl:
So, i have paid for a policy to cover parts of my car. The company won't pay for the repair because a major part of the car is now deemed a FW&T item. They won't refund the policy despite being in the 30 day cooling off period because i have made a claim that was rejected.
Does anybody know where i stand on this?
Thanks in advance
Dave

Comments

• Anihilator
    Anihilator Posts: 2,169 Forumite
    Options
    A gearbox isnt a servicable item no but I think its a bit wrong to say its meant to last the life of the car.