New Post Advanced Search

how to make crumble

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Old Style MoneySaving
382 replies 81.9K views

Replies

• angchrisangchris Forumite
    1.2K posts
    ✭✭✭
    hiya :D i have just been given 1 large carrier bag of pears and 1 of cooking apples,and i have never made a pie or a crumble before :o the pears need using very soon before they go over ripe and get wasted, was thinking of going and buying a load of foil pie dishes and making up a load of pies/crumbles to stick in the freezer has anybody got any foolproof step by step recipes or hints for a complete novice?? i`d hate to end up throwing them away and thats what will happen if i dont cook them this weekend as i wont have time in the week, thanks in advance :D
    proper prior planning prevents p!$$ poor performance! :p
    Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realise we cannot eat money
    quote from an american indian.
  • Alternatively you could stew the fruit with a bit of sugar, freeze in 'crumble' sized portions and use when you need
  • Crumble is really easy
    flour sugar and butter
    I don't bother weighing it when I do it.
    I will use about 2 cups flour 1/2 cup sugar and enough butter(add a little at a time) just to make the mixture crumble. then just put on top of stewed fruit and bake until a light brown colour.
    Someone will probably give you exact measurement, but I have never found I needed too.
    Good luck
    Frey
    Saving for the future of the earth
  • Its half fat and half sugar to plain flour,just made rhubarb & blackberry today, sprinkled some cinnamon on top too-smells divine. Alternatively you could do a kind of eve's pudding, you could put any fruit in dish, same as with crumble but instead of crumble topping, top with sponge cake mixture, nice for a change.
    Basic Sponge;
    4oz sr flour
    4oz soft marg
    4oz castor sugar
    2 eggs