🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Car Insurance Job Picker Discussion

Options

Comments

• lee_rees
    Options
    I work as a stock trader from home.

On insurance sites there is only the option of currency trader and stock broker. Although I trade shares I am not a broker because a broker is somebody that provides a service to clients, I have no clients and trade through a broker. My job title in the industry is stock trader which doesn't show up.

I do trade currency aswell, however for tax purposes currency trading is my 2nd job. As my currency trading is fully automated I spend less hours working as a currency trader, whereas when I trade stocks I work upto 3 hours per day.

What do I put for job title on the form, so as to not invalidate my insurance?
  • kdiver
    kdiver Posts: 19 Forumite
    Options
    Hi

I recently contacted my car insurance provider to find out how my premium would be affected if I started self employment with FM Cosetics (it is like kleeneze or avon etc), network marketing and catalogue distribution/ sales and they said that because I would be delivering goods that people would have ordered that it would be classed as courier-catalogue distribution and that they would not be able to insure it.

I do not think this is fair considering I am full time employed. I do not think these kinds of self employment should be classified like this. Should I write in explaining the situation fully to find out what the correct classification would be? I do not want to start and not have insurance?

Has anybody else any experience of this?

Thanks in advance.
    Katie
    :p K Diver :p

• kimquotes
    Options