Forum Home» Motoring» Parking Tickets, Fines & Parking

Received 15 parking tickets, now pursued by BW Legal

New Post Advanced Search

Received 15 parking tickets, now pursued by BW Legal

51 replies 1.1K views
Hi everyone, my 1st post on here. Ill try to be breif as possible. I have read the FAQ but where I've only come across this now I thought it would be best to post this as I'm not at the beginning stage.

I received 15 parking notices from Britannia Parking in the space of 2 weeks (some tickets for the same day as due to work I had to leave the car park and return) in the car park I have been parking in for work for the past 19 years. The car park has been managed by parking wardens since I can remember, but since December 2019 this car park was not being managed and everyone would park here without using buying a ticket as the meters were switched off due to a massive college being built right opposite the the car park. Even the workers at the building site said that the car park wouldn't reopen. Then out of nowhere I received the 15 fines mid February. Turns out Britannia Parking have installed a camera and new machines plus signs at this car park which monitor cars coming in and going out. Me plus other work colleagues didn't notice this as the meters and signs looked as they did to me for the past 19 years. What also didn't help was that i received the 1st parking notice 12 days after the incident. 1st I appealed to them as I thought it was ridiculous that they expect me to pay 15 parking fines and mentioned everything i have written here plus more, they turned down the appeals so then I wrote to them and explained that I wont be paying, i mentioned I was happy to pay for 1 of the fines as if I have received the 1st one in a timely manner I wouldn't have ended up with 15. Since then I've received 2 letters from the lovely people at BW Legal asking me to pay for 7 fines (im sure ive receive the other 8 soon too) inflating each fine to £160 after adding thi