We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Paper receipts - something we need?

Options
So recently I couldn't stop thinking about why in 2019 where we have things like card payments and contactless we still have to deal with paper receipts or in the best-case scenario spend time at the till spelling our email which is time-consuming and frustrating.

I am currently studying this problem and would love to get your opinion:

1) What are the things you like or hate about getting paper receipts?
2) How do you feel about digital email receipts? (Imagine if retailers never used this information for marketing emails but solely for sending receipts)
3) How would you ideally get your receipts?

Any answers would be appreciated

Comments

• bsms1147
    bsms1147 Posts: 2,261 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I often don't take or care for receipts, but if there was a quick way of having them emailed that would convince me

What if part of the contactless data (in future) that was transmitted contained your email address that you could have receipts sent to (providing you opt in first)

Just yesterday found out many receipts aren't recyclable, which is another mark against them.
  • VoucherMan
    VoucherMan Posts: 2,772 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Receipts are useful for stuff like grocery shopping. How else can you check whether or not you've been overcharged?