Do you run Linux - if not why?

Options

Comments

• thescouselander
    Options
    Cant be bothered with Linux (even though I work in IT). I actually like Windows 10 and I've got Windows specific software I want to run - windows is well supported too and doesn't take much maintenance on my part.
  • iltisman
    iltisman Posts: 2,589 Forumite
    Options
    I havn't got a beard.
  • Stoke
    Stoke Posts: 3,182 Forumite
    Options
    arciere wrote: »
    It's not wrong. It's my opinion.
    I have used Linux in the past and I didn't like it. Not saying that it's worse than Windows, I'm just saying why I don't use it.
    I have been in IT for the past 20 years, Linux has never managed to make me change my mind. No prejudice, just my experience.
    Windows installations have pretty much always been "Next - Next - Next - End". Has Linux always been this simple and I never realised?
    It's wrong to say that installing generic software is significantly easier on Windows, because it simply isn't. Say you want to install Skype on Windows. You navigate to the website, download the exe, double click, press Next Next etc. Done. Say you want to install Skype on Ubuntu. You navigate to the website, you download the .deb package, double click on it, the Debian Installer comes up. Press Install, agree to any policy. Done.

I'd say they're about the same. If you're talking about obscure software, then you could say the same about some obscure software on Windows too. I'm not saying that Windows isn't more user friendly overall, but that particular example is a bad one in my opinion.
    That's hardly a mainstream problem, is it? I appreciate that Linux is probably better in specific cases, but for everyday uses I have found it to be more complicated and time-wasting than Windows (again, my opinion).