Atrixa's Saving Diaries

edited 25 January at 6:20PM in How much have you saved?
412 replies 26.6K views

Replies

• MovingForwardsMovingForwards Forumite
    14.7K Posts
    10,000 Posts Third Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    You could leave a small cup of lemon and bicarb in the fridge. Did you do inside the door seals as they can be a hiding place.
    Was it proper or imitation coke? As I put 3L down / around the loo and left it overnight. Anything leftover should just scrub off.

Not long until you move 🤗🤗
  • atrixaatrixa Forumite
    471 Posts
    Fifth Anniversary 100 Posts Photogenic Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Yes, scrubbed the door seals and got the gunk out. I might get a lemon to cut in half and pop inside as well. That worked when I was a student. It was Sainsbo's own brand full sugar. It is VERY thick limescale, mind you. 
    14.7K Posts
    Forumite
    That will help a lot, if you leave both inside the fridge. Cheaper to try that than buying the eggs. If the fridge was switched off and the door left closed, that wouldn't have helped with the smell. You could always leave the fridge off and the door open for a week, to let the air circulate around it.

Try another few bottles over the next few visits or bite the bullet and buy the proper brand and leave 3L of that down, put the lid down too just in case the airflow stopped it from doing the job properly.