IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

***Help a Canadian visitor with a PPT please!***

Comments

• Umkomaas
    Umkomaas Posts: 41,336 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    edited 1 August 2017 at 10:49PM
    They have six months to access data from the DVLA - but, one pass only. They've had it!

They have 6 years to pursue through the county court.
    Please note, we are not a legal advice forum. I personally don't get involved in critiquing court case Defences/Witness Statements, so unable to help on that front. Please don't ask. .

I provide only my personal opinion, it is not a legal opinion, it is simply a personal one. I am not a lawyer.

Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day; show him how to catch fish, and you feed him for a lifetime.

Private Parking Firms - Killing the High Street
  • nosferatu1001
    nosferatu1001 Posts: 12,961 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    edited 2 August 2017 at 6:53AM
    They are only allowed to access the DVLA database with "reasonable cause"; that is, either to chase the Keeper under POFA2012, or to ask the Keeper to identify the Driver so they can be chased

You have already said you were the driver, and so NEITHER option is available to them. (A Keeper can only be liable in cases where the Drivers identity and serviceable address are not known to the parking company; they DO know these) If they DO access the DVLA, then a formal complaint MUST be made to the DVLA asking that the parking firms access is revoked.