Saving accounts as a Student

Options
Hi,

I am a mature student studing a full time course.

I am very lucky at the moment as I worked pretty much full time over the summer, and have budgeted throughout the first year and am in a position to start saving. To re-assure those younger students, I have had a very very quiet first year, and due to the age difference, did not do any joint socials. So I have been very boring.

I am at the point where, personally, I would like to start putting money aside for a deposit for a house, so that I have some savings for when I leave university in 2 years time. I currently have a student account with Co-operative Bank, and I work one day of the week. I have estimated that I can put £100 aside a month.

What should I do? Shall I just keep my money in one account, or is there an account that is specifially made for students in my position?

Thanks kindly

Lou.:rotfl:

Comments

• agrinnall
    agrinnall Posts: 23,344 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    The best earning accounts for the type of saving you want to do are regular savers, which pay up to 5%. The problem for you may be getting one, as you also need an associated current account and as a student you might find it difficult qualifying for one.

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/savings/best-regular-savings-accounts
  • Dobbibill
    Dobbibill Posts: 4,135 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Mortgage-free Glee! Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Not specifically for students but you could try getting a 2nd current account with somewhere like Nationwide. You have to meet funding criteria, which may take some work but it pays 5% on up to £2500 for the 1st yr and gives you access to their regular saver which can take up to £500 a month.