26, no savings feel stuck

Options
Hi everyone,

I'm new to MSE but I've done some minor lurking for a little while! Everyone is so lovely so I thought I'd join.

Apologies this is long....

I'm looking for advice on how to create a proper budget and stick to it with a view to try and save. I also need someone to tell me I'm doing OK and trying my best and not being as useless as I feel! I feel like my life is kind of on pause and I only ever live week to week. I have no savings or assets at all and I'm 26. I don't earn a lot, I've always worked in the charity sector. Recently I took a pay cut to leave a stressful job for one I love.

I don't have any significant debts apart from my student loan and a planned overdraft that I have had since university. At worst I was £1500 overdrawn when graduated. I've since clawed my way out of this and until recently was in the green. It took two years!

This month trying to pay off at least half of being £500 back in the red for various reasons. Trying to only spend set cash amounts each week after bills paid.

Here's my attempt at a SOA I need to go away and check various paperwork and our joint account to make more accurate.

Take home pay: Variable. I am contracted 4days a week earning 18,000 before tax a year, pro rata. I have the opportunity to pick up some additional shifts, in either my role or supporting in another. Take home pay seems to be around £1,100 a month (I've only been in role few months). Exploring self employed side options now I'm over previous job burnout.

Outgoings:
Pension: My work don't currently have one and I'm not putting anything away individually. I used to contribute to I think government one, £35 pm for about 2.5yrs, need to check what is in it.

Rent: £400 (partner pays slightly more as earns more and I do more of the home related tasks)

Then we each put £150 into our joint account for other household bills (not including food). I *think* this breaks down currently as....