🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Rebuilding my credit score whilst having debt

Options
Hello,

I've recently been looking into clearing my debts to start rebuilding my credit score as I'm trying to save for a mortgage to buy a house in the next 2-3 years however I have a few questions.

I just used noodle and it says I'm credit score is 530, which I know is really low and I expected that as I was silly when I was younger and got a couple of credit cards.

Which is the best way to get my score up then, below is my debts.

Lowell - 80
Lowell - 820
Arrow - 600
HSBC - 82 (no idea what this is but shows I've been defaulting since 2007)

The 2 big ones I've been paying £2 a month for like the last 5 years because again I was silly and never cared about my score as I was so young.

Should I start repaying these in big chunks? Some of them I don't think I've ever made a payment

Can I start rebuilding while paying these off?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I was silly and never cared about my score as I was so young.

Nothing wrong with not caring about your score. No one else does, so you should continue to ignore it.

What you need to do though is to manage your credit in a way that will make lenders think you are a decent bet to lend to.

Clearing your debts is a good place to start, but you need to understand the status of each, particularly those that have defaulted.
  • daniel198912345
    Options