MSE News: Been charged for unwanted Amazon Prime? Here's how to cancel

Options

Comments

• YorkieMan
    YorkieMan Posts: 18 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I have been using Amazon since 1999 so I think I could be counted as a seasoned customer. I placed an order this afternoon and clicked Go To Basket as usual. Instead of going to my Basket to checkout an Amazon Prime full screen window appeared with just two options (1) Try Amazon Prime for 30 days or (2) Continue to receive free delivery. (Wording may have been slightly different). There was no other option so I clicked the second option and checked out. I then received an email headed "Your Prime Free Trial Membership Confirmation - Welcome to Amazon Prime"

Underhand or what?

I did not want this and did not request it yet now I have to go through the actions of cancelling it.
  • Pollycat
    Pollycat Posts: 34,714 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Savvy Shopper!
    Options
    YorkieMan wrote: »
    I have been using Amazon since 1999 so I think I could be counted as a seasoned customer. I placed an order this afternoon and clicked Go To Basket as usual. Instead of going to my Basket to checkout an Amazon Prime full screen window appeared with just two options (1) Try Amazon Prime for 30 days or (2) Continue to receive free delivery. (Wording may have been slightly different). There was no other option so I clicked the second option and checked out. I then received an email headed "Your Prime Free Trial Membership Confirmation - Welcome to Amazon Prime"

Underhand or what?

I did not want this and did not request it yet now I have to go through the actions of cancelling it.
    I've not looked at the Amazon website lately as my OH has a Prime account (through choice) so I just pass anything I want to order over to him.