Grant of Confirmation

Options

Comments

• buddy9
    buddy9 Posts: 470 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    Options
    I presume that you need to apply for confirmation because NS&I has requested this before release of funds

1: Is NS&I situate in Scotland or England? - His interest-free certificate was .......
    I see that in Gers post above, premium bonds were listed as estate in Scotland. Perhaps this relates to the location of paper documents. I would have thought that NS&I accounts generally would show under moveables in England and Wales, but I have no personal experience.

2: His personal effects were sent to the tip, except a TV, radio and some books and pictures; furniture mostly belonged to NHS, anything else was tipped in the house clearance.  Maximum value (and I'm being very generous) £1k.  Do I give personal effects with a £1k value in the inventory?
    You would list household and personal effects and, in this case, give an estimated value. It is the open market value so £1k does seem generous. I would declare less than this if roughly accurate.

3: At the date of death he was due refunds from TV License, gas/electric company and BT, plus a state pension refund - do these get included/itemised in the inventory?
    Strictly, these should be listed in the inventory as stated in the C3 guidance form
    response shown in bold above

• Gillybilly_2
    Options
    I imagine that it is NS&I requiring confirmation as they have a very low payout threshold.  When I completed the forms this year I listed them under movable assets in England as their headquarters is listed in Sunderland.  

If you know the figures for refunds, I would add them in the appropriate columns.  The requirement for accuracy does seem to vary according to which area the forms are being submitted.