Options

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,786 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    edited 25 August 2016 at 1:24PM
    Options
    When I was trained to do this job, I learned to "consolidate."

That means at the end, you finish off by explaining what is going to happen next and when.

I used to tell people it will go quiet for the next week to ten days and a few days after that we will expect your mortgage offer to be issued.

Judging from the threads on here, consolidation isn't being done any more, or people aren't prepared to wait for their applications to be processed.

They seem to want every detail and the ins and outs of every lender's procedures. Is it just a symptom of the time and age creeping up on me...?

FWIW our clients are nowhere near as demanding as some of the threads here, so I suspect poor consolidation is the likely cause.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • amnblog
    amnblog Posts: 12,456 Forumite
    Options
    Mkl79 wrote: »
    Hi
    I am thinking of doing CeMap's and working towards becoming an independant broker but will obviously need some on the job experience,once qualified,with a company/brokerage first,the problem i have is my credit history is not perfect,no bankruptcy or ccj's but i am in a debt management plan the root of which was overstretching myself on a mortgage pre credit crunch. Would this be a minor stumbling block or a major hurdle,or even a complete non starter?
    Any advice would be welcome,and apologies if this is the wrong place to ask.