Flight delay and cancellation compensation, Jet2.com ONLY

Options

Comments

• dino25uk
    dino25uk Posts: 39 Forumite
    Options
    howticklediam, check out eudelay on twitter on Monday.
  • Vauban
    Vauban Posts: 4,736 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    edited 16 January 2015 at 3:23PM
    Options
    razorsedge wrote: »
    Article 15 of the EU261/2004 regs covers this point:

Article 15
    Exclusion of waiver
    1. Obligations vis-à-vis passengers pursuant to this Regulation
    may not be limited or waived, notably by a derogation
    or restrictive clause in the contract of carriage.

I'm not sure this is relevant though.

An aviation contract barrister once explained this to me. I'm not a lawyer, so don't know if it's right or not. But I'll try to relate the point as clearly as he did to me.

He said (this was before the Dawson case) that in his view airlines' attempts to claim the Montreal Convention "trumped" the UK Statute of Limitation would come to nought. But a term in the contract of carriage that stipulated any legal action would need to be brought within two years was much more likely to succeed. This is because the Limitation Act prescribes that the period of limitation for such circumstances should be either six years or whatever term is agreed between the two parties. So if you agree a term of two years for your specific contract of carriage, then that's how much time the law says you have to bring a case (or so the argument goes).

I'd be interested to know from those with more knowledge and talent for law than I have whether this is plausible or not. And whether they're aware of this being tested in a court.