We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

ooops i've done it again.....more chickens...

Options

Comments

• Sugarloaf
    Sugarloaf Posts: 55 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I would like to buy some chickens, but I don't know where to start. Which ones are best for laying and looking after? I love the speckled hens - but where do you buy them from and is this the right time of year?

Thanks
    I am a Kitchen Designer!
  • steady__eddie
    steady__eddie Posts: 1,455 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker Uniform Washer
    Options
    I want some but she who thinks she must be obeyed says that I can't have any. I think that it stems from the fact that when I kept some bantams years ago at my own place, she came to visit me one day. I was building a garden wall and she walked down the path carrying a cup of coffee in each hand. The !!!!, upon seeing her, mounted an assault upon her from a southerly direction. This was in the days of miniskirts and he managed to entrap his beak in her panties. He was flapping his wings like billyhoe trying to escape, she was screaming her head off and couldn't do anything because she didn't want to drop the cups and I was up a ladder. I did suggest that she bent down and put the cups on the path but she dismissed that option.
    She rarely goes past the poultry cabinet in Lidl nowadays so it must have left a lasting impression.
  • Triker
    Triker Posts: 7,247 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker Debt-free and Proud!
    Options
    I too love chickens, I used to have some Pekins, a Silkie and some Rhode Island Reds, loved them all. Angling to get some more but I reckon we'll have to move house first.