New power of attorney guide

Options
1697071727375»

Comments

• Primrose
    Primrose Posts: 10,621 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    I'm not a legal expert but I wouldn't think the death of a witness to a will wouldn't  matter unless the will was very contensious and it became the subject of a court legal dispute because after all some people make wills very early in life, their circumstances never change and that will can still be valid many years later.
      I would only be temped to remake your will if your financial conditions or your wishes have changed.

Like you I think the death of a certifying witness to a P of A would only matter if somebody were to raise a dispute with the Office of Public Guardian regarding the way an attorney was handling the individual's affairs.  If somebody with a legal background has views to the contrary it will obviously be interesting to be made aware.

• Malthusian
    Malthusian Posts: 10,944 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    peteduk said:
    We have been considering whether or not we have to renew our wills because 1 witness is now unfortunately deceased, and the other is in poor health. (I understand that it can cause probate problems but am not sure what if this is the case - our daughter is executor and did not know the witnesses or their family).
    You don't necessarily have to do that unless you think there's a realistic possibility that the Wills could be challenged on the basis that you didn't actually sign them and the witnesses' signatures were fake. (Although it also can't hurt.) The Wills Act is explicit that Wills are not invalidated when the witnesses die (or become unable to testify).
    It crossed my mind to ask if the death of witnesses also have an adverse effect on any aspect of the POA execution process? (To my mind it shouldn't because validation was made by the OPG at time of application).