Wash your uniform at home ?

Options

Comments

• smellyfoot
    Options
    Mikeyorks wrote: »
    You're likely to get in the region of £60 or £80 in relief. Which translates (at 20% tax rate) to £12 / £16pa.

Just write to HMRC with your NINO and Employer ref (off your P60) and indicate you wish to claim for laundering overalls (?).

Thank You Mikeyorks ,You're star...!!!:D
  • hypothetical
    Options
    Hello!

Just to say that reclaiming this allowance has been a total win for me; I've been working frontline for an ambulance trust for three years and have been given the maximum 140ukp uniform allowance having contacted HMRC.

For information, I was told by the very helpful person who I spoke to at HMRC that for a claim of up to three years adjustment it's ok to do it over the phone - no need to write a letter and spend on a stamp! :)

Oh and I also managed to reclaim tax on HPC fees and Union membership... That's also added up nicely.

To add to the total win-ness of my minimal effort ten minute phonecall they've reassessed my tax payments for the last three years since joining said ambulance service and have given me a total rebate of 1.3k and change.

So thank you very much MSE-forums. Most profitable ten minutes ever! :beer:

Happily,

hypothetical
  • Mikeyorks
    Mikeyorks Posts: 10,369 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Fen1 wrote: »
    My uncle died last year. Can my aunt claim back for the washing, even though her husband is now deceased?

Yes she can do that. Needs to specify his NINO and Employer Ref (from the last P60). And clarifying - for avoidance of any doubt - that the refund must be in the form of a cheque and payable to the personal representative (and specifying precisely who that is).
    If you want to test the depth of the water .........don't use both feet !
  • Fen1
    Fen1 Posts: 1,577 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post First Anniversary
    Options