Everything & Anything New York City

Options

Comments

• delwynshd
    delwynshd Posts: 2,907 Forumite
    Options
    paulfoel wrote: »
    Why so insistent on British airline? IMHO american airlines are way superior anyway...

American Airlines far superior!! I would like to know what aircraft you were on lol

Del
    I am a Travel Agent

My company’s ABTA numbers are P6046. MSE doesn't check my status as a Travel Agent, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Travel Agent Code of Conduct.
  • Greenlight77
    Options
    Hi, we're going to New York in July for 3 nights (2 adults and 2 teenagers) staying in midtown Manhattan and then will be heading to New England to see friends near Boston and tour round. We will hire a car but are nervous about driving in Manhattan so were thinking that we'd hire one from the airport and get straight on the freeway - we're flying into JFK but I suppose we could pick up a car from another airport if that worked better. Depending how things go we may spend another night in New York at the end so wouldn't necessarily need to drop the car at JFK. Does anyone have any suggestions as to where would be best to hire a car, thanks
  • Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,030 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Get the train from Central to North White Plains (about an hour, IIRC), hire from Hertz, return car to JFK or a.n.other airport.

This is a tip from I don't remember who, but it really really works: you're right that you don't need a car in Manhattan (and it would be horrid to drive, and parking is insane), but the Hertz place is no further from the station exit than the taxi rank at a decent sized UK station. It's quiet out there, so you can get used to driving something massive and automatic on the wrong side of the road. :wink:
    Signature removed for peace of mind
  • M4RKM
    M4RKM Posts: 5,132 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options